changes was to keep the membership at 214 in the early years of the present century. The extremely rapid growth of the Northwest Territories, however, led to their division and the admission to Confederation in 1905 of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan. In the Acts admitting them—the Alberta Act (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3) and the Saskatchewan Act (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)—it was provided that their representation should be readjusted on the basis of the results of the Quinquennial Census of 1906. The Representation Act of 1907, implementing this pledge, increased the representation of Saskatchewan from 6 to 10 and of Alberta from 4 to 7 members, thus raising the total membership of the House of Commons to 221.

The Census of 1911, with its very large but very unevenly distributed increase of population, led to considerable changes in representation, enacted by the Representation Act of 1914. The representation of Ontario was reduced from 86 to 82, of Nova Scotia from 18 to 16, of New Brunswick from 13 to 11, of Prince Edward Island from 4 to 3. On the other hand, the representation of Manitoba was raised from 10 to 15, of Saskatchewan from 10 to 16, of Alberta from 7 to 12 and of British Columbia from 7 to 13. The net result was an increase of 13 members in the total membership of the House of Commons, bringing the figure to 234. However, in the following session the amendment to the British North America Act, already referred to, resulted in the retention by Prince Edward Island of her fourth member (since she had 4 senators). (See also 5 Geo. V, c. 19.) The total membership, therefore, of the House of Commons in the thirteenth and fourteenth Parliaments (elected in 1917 and 1921 respectively) was 235.

As a result of the smaller increase of population shown by the Census of 1921, the changes in representation were less far-reaching. Nova Scotia lost 2 members and the West gained 12, 2 of these being added to Manitoba, 5 to Saskatchewan, 4 to Alberta and 1 to British Columbia. The representation of the remaining four Prince Edward Island retained its 4 members because provinces was unchanged. of the provisions of the British North America Act of 1915, to the effect that the members of the House of Commons returned by a province shall never be fewer than its senators. Ontario, again, retained its 82 members because under Subsection 4 of Section 51 of the British North America Act (quoted p. 79), the proportion which its population bore to the aggregate population of the Dominion had not declined by one-twentieth. Further, by the Quebec Boundaries Extension Act of 1912, it had been stipulated that the population of the added area (Ungava) should not be included for the purpose of determining the unit of representation, so that the 1921 population of Quebec, within its 1911 boundaries, viz., 2,358,412, divided by the fixed number of 65 seats for that province, became the new unit of representation, 36,283.

The Census of 1931 showed a further decrease in the rate of growth of the population of Canada, a gain of only 18.08 p.c. being recorded from 1921 to 1931, as against 21.94 p.c. in the previous decade. Under the provisions of the Representation Act, 1933 (23-24 Geo. V, c. 54), Nova Scotia lost two members and New Brunswick one, while Alberta and British Columbia gained one and two members respectively, the total number of members in the House of Commons remaining at 245. The whole problem of redistribution arising out of the 1931 Census was treated *in extenso* at pp. 76-77 of the 1934-35 Year Book.